JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

World Fantasy Awards

Image of World Fantasy Award

The World Fantasy Awards are nominated by members of the World Fantasy Convention and selected by a panel of judges to acknowledge excellence in fantasy writing and art during the previous calendar year. The WFC presents the awards at its banquet each year around the end of October or early November. The award - a small statue of H. P. Lovecraft - was first given in 1975.

Categories have developed over time and now include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Best Novel
  • Best Novella
  • Best Short Fiction
  • Best Anthology
  • Best Collection
World Fantasy Awards Winners 1975-2011 click here.