JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Sydney Taylor Awards

The Sydney Taylor Award seal of the Association of Jewish Libraries is awarded annually to the authors of the most distinguished contribution to Jewish children's literature published during the preceding year. The Sydney Taylor Awards were established by Ralph Taylor, her husband, to honor outstanding books of positive Jewish content for children.

The awards are given annually to two books, one for younger readers (established in 1968 for Grades 1-5) and one for older readers (created in 1981 for Grades 4-8), judged to be the most significant contributions to Jewish children's literature published in the previous year. In 2007 an award was established to honor teen-oriented (Grades 9-12) literature.

Award winners are announced in January of each year.

Sydney Taylor Award Winners 1968-Present.