JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Nobel Laureates

Image of Nobel Prize Medals

The Nobel Prize in Literature has recognized the whole spectrum of literary works including poetry, novels, short stories, plays, essays and speeches. Starting off with the first prize in 1901 to the poet and philosopher Sully Prudhomme, author of Stances et PoÐmes (1865), the Prize has distinguished the works of authors from different languages and cultural backgrounds. It has been awarded to unknown masters as well as authors acclaimed worldwide.

Nobel Prize Winners in Literature 1901-2011 click here.