JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

National Book Awards

Image of National Book Award Winner Sticker

Begun in 1950, the National Book Awards have become the nation's preeminent literary prizes. The goal of this ceremony is to enhance the public's awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans, and to increase the popularity of reading in general.

Selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre, winners receive a $10,000 cash award and a crystal sculpture at the annual National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner.

National Book Award Winners 2010-2011
National Book Award Winners 1950-2009 click here.