JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Hugo Awards

Image of the Hugo Award

Given annually by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS) at its annual World Science Fiction Convention (WORLDCON), the Hugo Award honors excellence in science fiction in a particular year for work that appeared in the previous calendar year. Named in honor of Hugo Gernsback, "The Father of Magazine Science Fiction,", it resembles a rocketship. The Hugo was first awarded in 1953.



Hugo Awards Winners 1946-2011 click here.