JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

PEN / Faulkner Awards

PEN Faulkner Logo

Named for its founder, William Faulkner, the PEN/Faulkner Award is given yearly to the best work of fiction by an American author during the previous calendar year. Faulkner set up the award after he won the Nobel Prize for literature in 1950. The sponsoring award organization is PEN -- Poets, Playwrights, Editors, Essayists, and Novelists -- an international organization of writers. Started in 1980, the PEN/Faulkner Award winners and nominess are selected by a judging panel of three noted writers of fiction.

The judges generally make their decision about the five finalists in early to mid-March, at which time the names are announced. The "First among Equals" is announced to the press mid-April. These dates vary each year according to the schedule of judging.

PEN/Faulkner Awards 1981-2011 click here.