JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Edgar Awards

The Edgar Award, named in honor of Edgar Allan Poe, is given by the Mystery Writers of America to the best in mystery fiction and nonfiction produced during the previous calendar year. While the first Award (for Best First Mystery by an American Author) was given in 1946, the first "Edgar" for Best Novel was awarded in 1954. Categories have developed over time and now include, but are not limited to, the following:

Past Edgar Awards 1946-Present click here.
  • Best Novel
  • Best First Mystery Novel by an American Author
  • Best Original Paperback
  • Best Non-fiction
  • Best Fact (True) Crime

Each year, the awards - ceramic statuettes of Edgar Allan Poe - are presented at the Mystery Writers of America's annual Gala Banquet.