JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Anthony Awards

The Anthony Awards were created in 1986 and are given at each annual Bouchercon World Mystery Convention. Nominees and winners are selected by attendees. Awards are given for the best novel, first novel, paperback original, short story collection, and criticism/biography. On occasion, a special category will be included.

The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), well-knownwriter and critic from the New York Times. He also helped found the Mystery Writers of America organization. Each convention committee designs its own award to present to the winners. One such design is a dagger (which is removable, to be used as a letter opener) stabbing a book.

Anthony Awards 1986-Present click here.