JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Agatha Awards

Agatha Awards are given for materials first published in the United States by a living author during the previous calendar year (January 1 through December 31) in hardcover or as paperback originals. They are now awarded in five categories (earlier years did not include all categories):

  • Best Novel
  • Best First Mystery Novel
  • Best Short Story
  • Best Non-Fiction
  • Best Children's/Young Adult Mystery

The Agatha Awards honor the traditional mystery — books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie, for whom the awards are named. The genre is generally characterized by mysteries that contain no explicit sex, excessive gore, or gratuitous violence; usually featuring an amateur detective, they have a confined setting and characters who know one another. Novels and stories featuring police officers and private detectives may qualify for the Agatha, but materials generally classified as “hard boiled” are not appropriate.

Started in 1988, the Agatha Awards - a teapot emblazoned with a skull and crossbones - are presented annually during the Malice Domestic Convention in celebration of the traditional mystery.

To view current winners in all categories click here.
To view past winners 1988-2009 click here.